Sunday, 27 November 2016 19:10

Sail NS Celebrates a Great Year at Annual Awards

The 2016 sailing season came to a close in Nova Scotia on Saturday as we honored the best sailors and volunteers from across the province at our annual awards ceremony.

Held at the Maritime Museum of the Artlantic the event atrracted more than 120 guests. A presentation by our 2016 Olympians and Paralympians was a great start to the evening as they talked about their experiences at the Games'.

For a full list of winners, please see below.

President's Award - Denis Astephen, Northern Yacht Club
Sailors of the Year - Paul Tingley & Scott Lutes
Female Sailors of the Year - Erin Rafuse & Dannie Boyd
Male Sailors of the Year - Jacob & Graeme Chaplin Saunders
Female Youth Sailors of the Year - Lauren Sullivan, Georgia Lewin-LaFrance
Male Youth Sailor of the Year - Jack Gogan
Offshore Sailor of the Year - Stu McCrea (pictured with Steve Davies)
Official of the Year - Brian Todd
Regatta of the year - Chester Race Week
Coach of the Year - Lisa Ross
Instructor of the Year - Kate Pepler, Bedford Basin Yacht Club
WOW! Award Winner - Elizabeth Jardine, Petpeswick Yacht Club
Volunteer of the Year - Bryan MacDougall, Ben Eoin Yacht Club

Winning the Legacy Fund award in 2016 were Max Flinn and Cameron Sawyer.