Sunday, 24 November 2013 00:54

NSYA Holds Annual Awards

The Nova Scotia Yachting Association held its annual awards ceremony on Saturday, November 23 to recognize the best in the sport of sailing in 2013.

Sailor of the Year was shared by Warren Nethercote a sailing judge and Rob Williams, a race official who have volunteered their time at a number of events around the world over the past 30 years.

Offshore Sailor of the year went to Mary Ridgewell a long time safety officer when it comes to offshiore sailing.

Female Sailor of the Year was Corinne Peters who continues to be one of the best Laser Radial Sailors in the country. She won a silver medal at the 2013 Canada Summer Games.

Male Sailor of the Year went to Greg Simms and Devan Dube who won the Canadian 29er Championships this year and also a Canada Games bronze medal.

Youth Sailors of the Year were Allie Surrette, Ali ten Hove, Jake Megaffin, Alex Sapp, and Luke Ruitenberg 5 of the best young sailors in the country.

Legacy Fund Award winner was Corinne Peters.

The Nova Trophy Community Coach Award went to Graham Mann from the Sail All program.

The WOW! Women On Water Award went to Karen Fowler from the Bedford Basin Yacht Club.

Recognized for winning the 420 Nova Scotia Circuit Championship were Emmett Hall-Hoffarth & Paul Braha.

Recognized for winning the Laser Radial Circuit Championship was Spencer Dalzell.

Merit awards were handed out to 13 youth sailors from across the province.

Cameron Shaw
Ryan Anderson
Siobhan MacDonald
Riley Morash
Morgan Morash
David Sapp
Nicholas Yuill
Henry Machum
Antonia Lewin-Lafrance
Nathan Dunn